Legendary Tuba story!

George Smith was the tuba player with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra for many years. He now lives in Granda, Spain, Where he tunes pianos. George used to tune my piano when he came back to Liverpool but wouldn’t accept any cash for his trouble. His fee therefore was a large glass of wine every octave or so. George always started at the bass end, which was fabulously in tune when he had finished. Sadly, by the time he arrive at the top end his skills had gradually deserted him! I blame myself entirely.

A quietly spoken man, George became well known for cycling everywhere, munching raw garlic all the time and for living in a shed on the Wirral, which blew down in a storm.

The following incident, involving George, made the national news and I am reposting it here to celebrate George’s 65th birthday.

George Smith and the notorious incident!

The lads tell me that it was illegal to breathalyse George, as he was on a bike, not in a car. Apparently, there was a campaign in the Daily Mail under some heading like George Smith is innocent. Little old ladies were sending him fivers and tenners to help with his campaign!

About brendanball

Professional Trumpeter: Soloist, Orchestra Player, Chamber Music, Contemporary Music & Education.
This entry was posted in The Brass Section. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Legendary Tuba story!

  1. Hi, I know George Smith, My Father played Bass trombone with George at the Liverpool Phil, his name was Thomas Wrigley.

    • brendanball says:

      Hi Susie, I am soon going to publish the RLPO brass section from 1840 to the present day. Your father will feature very strongly. He is a legend in the orchestra. George is really well. I saw him recently.

  2. Hi, what a lovely surprise, didn’t think I would receive a reply, I’m on facebook under Susie Wrigley Donkin, and my e- mail address is susied 633@g mail.com, I would also like to know, when you have finished your publication, how I can receive a copy, also my husband and I are planning a trip to Spain, as we have a house there near Alicante, and plan a trip to Granada to surprise George, But need an address if possible, that’s if I get the time off work, if not it will have to be next summer hence the surprise, thank you for your kind words regarding my Father, please tell George hello and pass on our best wishes xx

Leave a comment